502.585.9033       info@capturehighered.com
The Weightlist Podcast

Episode 22 – From Admissions Counselor to Data Scientist with Infinite Campus’ Dan Jarratt, Part One

Dan Jarratt, Data Scientist with Infinite Campus discusses how his background in admissions lead him on a journey to push the education space to ask better questions and collectively sharpen its skills to find better answers.  How can a commitment to data science help enrollment managers build better relationships with those they serve?  How could we create a Netflix-style recommender that would use big data to help prospective students discover more best-fit colleges to consider? In part one of our interview with Dan, we walk through how a data scientist orders the world and how serious problems can be solved using data science.

Beers:

Thom: Arrogant Brewing, Escondido, CA, www.arrogantbrewing.com, Arrogant Bastard Ale, https://untappd.com/b/arrogant-brewing-arrogant-bastard-ale/18099

Brad: HammerHeart Brewery, Lionel Lake, MN, Thor’s Fury Smoked Hot Pepper Imperial Porter, https://untappd.com/b/hammerheart-brewing-company-thor-s-imperial-porter/402876

References:

Music Timeline Visualization:  https://research.google.com/bigpicture/music

Infinite Campus:  https://www.infinitecampus.com

College Navigator:  https://nces.ed.gov/collegenavigator

Hobsons CollegeView: http://www.collegeview.com/collegesearch/index.jsp

Movie Lens:  https://movielens.org

Music:

Artist: Kevin MacLeod, http://freemusicarchive.org/music/Kevin_MacLeod/

Track: AcidJazz, http://freemusicarchive.org/music/Kevin_MacLeod/Jazz_Sampler/AcidJazz_1430

Used under Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported (CC BY 3.0) License, https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0/, No revisions made.